Matte Painting – After Effects Breakdown “I Am Legend Spoof”

I came across this breakdown while looking into matte painting to see how I could use the effect for my Lego city. This breakdown gives a few tips into how they created the shots, and although I think they could have gone further with their idea of decay, it is an interesting watch.

The times square scene has made me rethink the way I will show the Lego character exploring the world in my project. I will attempt to build a street and have the character slowly walk down it, with a combination of the real Lego set and matte painting to expand the detail in the city. Here is a very quick (and very bad!) sketch I did to capture the look I am going to attempt.

1443409287153-670025972

Leave a Reply

