The Matrix

When I started thinking about VFX, The Matrix was the first thing that came to mind. The first movie was ground breaking for it’s visual effects, and I also remember it being one of the first DVD’s I owned that included endless ‘making of’ special features.

Now as far as I am concerned, they should have quit after just the one movie, but the car chase scene from the second movie was very impressive. What inspires me from this breakdown of the truck collision scene is the amazing amount of detail that the makers put into creating such a short scene, from the incredible drawings and storyboarding onwards. It really highlights the amount of effort required to make a composition work well. Obviously I will not be creating anything as complex, but I will still need to put in a lot of work to make my compositions look good.

Leave a Reply

